PDA

View Full Version : Body Armor Q&A

lymanbishop
11-20-15, 13:44
I am a mechanical engineer with over 10 years experience working with body armor. While I am affiliated with Hoplite Armor the purpose of this thread is NOT to sell you on anything, but rather to answer any questions that you may have. There are a lot of factors that should go into your buying decision, especially these days, and I wanted to make myself available to answer those questions for you.

Fire away...

HKGuns
11-20-15, 16:39
Do you still think Ceramic is better than Steel? :)

lymanbishop
11-20-15, 17:40
Do you still think Ceramic is better than Steel? :)

Short answer is yes. I can explain if you like.

HKGuns
11-20-15, 21:14
Please do, for the benefit of everyone.

Dabster
11-20-15, 21:43
For several years we have been hearing of revolutionarily lighter and cheaper body armor (and night vision but that's another thread) being just a short time out...

Prices have gone down a bit and lighter ceramic armor is now out but I'm not seeing any huge changes.

Do you see big changes coming soon?

Thanks!

lymanbishop
11-20-15, 22:29
Please do, for the benefit of everyone.

Lets first define what a quality “Ceramic” plate would be;
Level III+ / IV
Ceramic / Polyethylene composite
In order to obtain Level III+ (M855) and above with a lightweight (under 5lbs) polyethylene composite you need a lightweight, hard surface such as ceramic to act as a breaker plate in order to stop high velocity steel core rounds.
The Polyethylene material is comprised of HDPE (High Density Polyethylene) infused with UHMWPE (Ultra High Molecular Weight Polyethylene) fibers. The plies are then pressed under high heat and pressure and cut to shape.
The ceramic comes in numerous chemical variations and acts as the “breaker plate”, fragmenting the steel core, thereby allowing the backer plate to contain any resulting spall.