PDA

View Full Version : EOTech ... XPS vs. EXPS ??? Curious on your thoughts on EOTech Absolute or lower 1/3

falconman515
12-21-15, 23:36
So the title asks what I am curious about ......

I know EOTech is getting a bad rap but absolutely nothing that will effect me and my usage and for me the EOTech is superior By Far over any other offering with it's reticle and large windowed field of view.

SO ... I have decided I will be getting a new EOTech (E)XPS2-0 optic.

But I am curious on your thought between the standard absolute co-witness XPS vs the lower 1/3 co-witness of the EXPS model.

Have you found the absolute or lower 1/3 to be superior to the other?

I am somewhat new to regular 1x red-dots and have not used anything in either configuration.

I am currently borrowing an EOTech 512 which compares to the XPS absolute and it seems fine but at times I think if it was up a touch more I wouldn't have to push my cheek into the stock so much to get a straight line with the reticle ... BUT on the other hand a good solid cheek weld is nice too and not sure if the raised lower 1/3 would keep me from obtaining a solid cheek weld.

Just some thoughts I have is all and curious what you think?

Another thing to that makes me like the EXPS is the side mounted controls instead of rear controls on the XPS cause more then likely I will be adding a 3X magnifier behind it ... so a mount close to the optic I know sometimes depending on the magnifier mount tent to cover the rear controls or the rear right button ... so the side mounted buttons would be much better. PLUS I really want QD .... I thought if I went with the XPS I would add GG&G's Accucam QD mounting system.

So I am up in the air on what to choose.

Any thoughts, suggestions, experience and feedback is welcome (Other Then the pointless "Don't buy and EOTech cause they suck, buy an Aimpoint BS ... that means nothing and is unwelcome ... I know it would come so just trying to head it off before it does :) )