PDA

View Full Version : Why Should We Support Georgia?

i303
08-10-08, 05:58
I wanted to post this on the 'other thread' but b/c of petty bickering it got locked.

I'm no subject expert, nor did I stay at a Holiday Inn Express. I do understand a bit about Georgia having some hope to visit before all this happened. What I know about Georgia comes from a family relative, now German (aunt-in-law?).

Georgians are very proud of their heritage which is based on their religion, Orthodox Christians. OC's have a strong tie to their past as the original Church of Christ and they have always been proud of their history specially during the Crusades.

Through the course of history Georgia was invaded by Persians, later came the Ottoman Empire. This is why they hate Muslims but have a tolerable relationship with Turkey now. After a very short independence after WW1, the Soviets invaded Georgia.

The Soviet Union always had a tough time with Georgia. Even though Czechoslovakia got more media attention, Georgia have always been Moscow's biggest thorn in the ass specifically the OC Church. After much policing by KGB, sending many Georgian's to a gulag, re-education camp, etc., Moscow finally barely tolerated the OC Church, however Georgia was always a powder keg. One of the things the Soviets did was to re-locate many hard core Soviets into Georgia, mainly Odessia and Abkhazia. Even though they tried it all over Georgia, Odessia was about as good as it was going to get for them. Georgian's have always given silent support to the west hoping that after WW2 they would get their chance since the USSR was busy incorporating all of E. Europe under their control.

When the USSR broke up in 1991, Georgia wasted no time telling Moscow to f-off and instantly reformed into a democratic Christian based country.