PDA

View Full Version : Work sharp suggestions?

ubet
01-05-16, 18:16
Bought a work sharp the other day and have used it a little bit. Doesn't seem like I'm getting the sharpness out of my knives that I should. Have a zt 300 and it won't get as sharp as when it was factory new. Any tips you guys have would be appreciated

Sent from my SM-N920V using Tapatalk

GH41
01-06-16, 06:05
I'm no expert but it looks like a blade like the ZT300 would be impossible to sharpen on a belt sander. How do you attack the concave section closest to the the hilt? I have been looking at the WorkSharp but wondering how versatile it really is.

sierra 223
01-06-16, 17:35
It took me a little practice.

Don't take the tip past half way across the belt or you will probaly round off the tip some.

As far as sharpening I make at least 12 passes with the fine belt to make sharper.

I also touch mine up on Spyderco Sharpmaker after using WorkSharp.

ubet
01-08-16, 18:33
Well I've used it and have started to learn the ropes of it a touch, watching the DVD helped. I'll be interested to see how the edges hold though. I have a Damascus belt knife that I got really out of whack on whetstones and it got it trued up and sharper than I've ever had it. Real test will be this spring though when wet brand, see how that knife holds up with the edge the work sharp put on it when it comes to cutting ears and cutting bull calves nuts all day.

ubet
01-08-16, 18:35
It seems to sharpen the zt fine, even the recurve

GH41
01-08-16, 18:51
Slightly off topic... I know they eat pig nuts (Mountain Oysters) but do they eat cow nuts as well? Waste want not.

ubet
01-08-16, 19:01
Oh ya, I don't think you could pay me to eat a pig nut. Bit calf nuts, little flour, little garlic salt fry em in oil and damn they are good

GH41
01-08-16, 21:45
In other words like rattlesnake and MREs... If you put enough Tabasco on it it's GTG.

JackFanToM
01-09-16, 09:07