PDA

View Full Version : For a 300BLK Build: 9mm or 7.62 Suppressor?

El Cid
01-06-16, 09:27
I'm planning to build a 300BLK SBR this year. I already have the 8.5" bbl thanks to a generous Rainier Arms holiday sale. I had been researching a can for the rifle and had it narrowed down to a LaRue Tranquilo or perhaps the OSS flush mount 7.62 because I like that they vent the gas out the front of the suppressor. My 11.5" 5.56 SBR will often make my eyes water with the suppressor on it, but I have no experience with 300BLK rifles. Do they give the shooter more or less gas with the pistol length setup?

The Tranquilo is 8" long and 23oz, so it's not exactly a lightweight. The OSS cans are hard to get weights (I don't see them on the website and have emailed them asking), and show a length of 7.25".

Now the wrench in my plan... Silencerco just released the Osprey 9K which is full auto rated for use on 300BLK rifles with an 8" or longer bbl. It's 4.7" long and 8.8oz which will make for a much handier rifle. Anyone here using a 9mm can on a 300BLK rifle and like it? Hate it? Indifferent? I would imagine the much shorter 9mm can will be louder than the rifle cans, but in Fireman1291's video on Full30, the Osprey 9K was impressively quiet on the 300BLK.

Either can could be used on other hosts, so that isn't really a factor. I also am not going to lose any sleep over thread-on vs. quick mount/brake/hider. The 9K is tempting because the goal for the rifle is to have a very compact package (planning to use the MVB ARC stock), and it's half as long as the rifle cans. But I want to be sure I'm not sacrificing much in terms of performance.

Thanks!

plinkerr
01-06-16, 09:59