PDA

View Full Version : Backpacking stove - Wood VS Gas Systems?

Irish
01-10-16, 05:38
What are the pros and cons of using a wood burning collapsible, such as the Emberlit or Bushbox, versus a gas system like an MSR, canister or liquid fuel?

Primary use would be backpacking and camping for a few days. I like the idea of the wood system due to utilizing free, abundant fuel sources. But, is it more convenient and easier to rock an MSR, or the equivalent?

I'm relatively new to this, haven't been camping in 20 years, but I'd like to get out with my boys and do some exploring, camping, etc.

ETA - Or if you going to use a wood burning stove would you just be better off building a fire to save weight?

Psybain
01-10-16, 05:42
This episode of geartasting from ITS Tactical might help you out, skip forward to 12:50 to get to the backpack stove section.
https://youtu.be/E_eczSi_Oug

Irish
01-10-16, 06:02
This episode of geartasting from ITS Tactical might help you out, skip forward to 12:50 to get to the backpack stove section.
https://youtu.be/E_eczSi_Oug

A good overview. Thanks!

b2dap1
01-10-16, 06:21
Check out the Kelley Kettle. You can heat water and cook on top of it. Its quick and just needs sticks and twigs. A little pricey but its worth it!!

Ironman8
01-10-16, 07:35
Irish,

Why not have both? I'm going on 3 years with the Trail Designs Ti-Tri Sidewinder Stove and love it for its versatility. You can burn liquid fuel, esbit tabs, wood, and even run a remote gas canister if you wanted. It's super lightweight and I haven't had any durability issues with it taking out for week+ long backcountry elk hunts in Idaho and Colorado. Just pick the pot of your choice and he likely makes a corresponding stove system for it (I would recommend a wide 1+ liter pot for your uses - I run the 1.3L Evernew Ti pot for just myself to be able to cook meals in it or just boil water.)

https://www.traildesigns.com/stoves/caldera-sidewinder

themonk
01-10-16, 08:16