PDA

View Full Version : Piston Driven 300 Blk- Will it work?

Metal Mike55
01-11-16, 18:29
My brother has asked me to build him a 300 blackout for hog hunting. I've never built a custom AR before but I do have a great amount of experience with them and how piston driven rifles work. He will be suppressing it and more than likely shooting hypersonic loads. I plan to use the Adams Arms XLP Carbine length piston kit with the low mass BCG paired with an almost all BCM upper. BCM Standard 16" fluted barrel, BCM M4 upper receiver assembly, and the BCM KMR ALPHA 15 Handguard. He was wanting to keep the price around 1200-1300 dollars. I was hoping someone with some more knowledge or experience could tell me if these parts will work together? Will it cycle rounds? Will I need to modify anything? Will the piston clear the KMR barrel nut? What weight buffer will I need? Should I swap any parts for others? Will this setup be accurate if it works? Any help would be appreciated, and please excuse any gaffs I've made in the post.

CRNA
01-11-16, 19:16
I think Adams arms web sight tells you what rails you can use

Metal Mike55
01-11-16, 19:32
I never saw the KMR on the list of rails that will work or the list that won't work. Unless I just missed it somewhere.

Benito
01-11-16, 21:09
May work, or may not.
A DI BCM setup will almost certainly work, though.

I think you mean supersonic. It's not gonna be hypersonic, unless he's got some kind of rail gun.

Metal Mike55
01-11-16, 21:22
Yes I realize the DI setup would work easily and more cheap, but he specifically wants piston drive for the ease of suppressing it and no blowback. Also yes supersonic.

civiliansheepdog
01-11-16, 21:27
Piston driven, supersonic hog killer? Why the hell a .300 when you could run a 6.8? 6.8 would do a much better job, especially given a 16" barrel.

VIP3R 237
01-11-16, 21:33
Double tap

VIP3R 237
01-11-16, 21:33