PDA

View Full Version : Need some advice on a new AR

BigGameBalls
01-12-16, 10:34
First post here so take it easy on me! I'm a newbie to the AR platform. I've always wanted one and a new coyote hunting hobby has given me the itch to finally buy one. Hunting and long range target shooting will be my primary use. I have no delusions that my life will ever depend on this rifle but I still want a quality rifle that is "built right" because I don't like the idea of buying anything where corners are cut. Accuracy, reliability, and a nice trigger are 3 things I know will be important to me. I'd also like it to be light weight and balance well. I'll be mounting a quality scope, bipod, and possibly a flashlight for night hunting. I've been looking on the internet at brands like BCM, Larue, DD, LMT, Colt, Etc..... I don't know enough about them to determine which rifle is going to suit my needs and offer the best bang for the buck. Ideally I'd like to spend as little as possible to get a quality gun that will shoot sub MOA and be "built right". Can you help point me in the right direction.

diving dave
01-12-16, 10:41
All brands you listed are top notch, the Larue will be $ though....For whacking yotes, I'd take a hard look at a 18 inch BCM build.

n517rv
01-12-16, 10:44
I would recommend getting a Blemished BCM lower and then get a 16" BCM Stainless Steel barrel with a 13" or 15" BCM KMR handguard. Then upgrade the trigger to a Geissele SSA or better yet an SSA-E and add in the other goodies you mentioned and you'll be all set.

From a reliability, value, and flexibility standpoint you can't go wrong with this setup. This is a rifle you could hunt with as well as fight with.

Sent from my SM-G900P using Tapatalk

ColtSeavers
01-12-16, 10:49