PDA

View Full Version : Swapping DPMS Sportacle Upper Receiver

BigSwede
01-17-16, 23:41
This is a noobish question so sorry for bugging the vets :D. Im new to the ar platform and picked up a dpms sportacle( slick sided upper) on the cheap from a buddy. Its been reliable but im looking to change out the upper receiver to one with a dust cover,brass deflector, and forward assist. Will this gun use any ar upper receiver or does dpms use any special dimensions on their rifles. Ive read where their lr308 rifles have different specs than other ar10 based rifles is why i ask.

Iraqgunz
01-18-16, 01:38
Word of advice. Don't waste your time with that upper. Sell it complete as is and get another.

This is a noobish question so sorry for bugging the vets :D. Im new to the ar platform and picked up a dpms sportacle( slick sided upper) on the cheap from a buddy. Its been reliable but im looking to change out the upper receiver to one with a dust cover,brass deflector, and forward assist. Will this gun use any ar upper receiver or does dpms use any special dimensions on their rifles. Ive read where their lr308 rifles have different specs than other ar10 based rifles is why i ask.

zibby43
01-18-16, 01:45
Word of advice. Don't waste your time with that upper. Sell it complete as is and get another.

Seconded.

henschman
01-18-16, 10:00
To answer your question, yes, you could swap out the upper. AR-15s are universal in design with very few exceptions -- nothing like .308 ARs. You would need a bench vise, upper receiver vise blocks, a barrel nut wrench, a 1/2" torque wrench, a set of Allen wrenches, and a set of punches at minimum. Probably not the most cost effective approach, especially if you would have to buy several of those tools.

As was said, you could just buy a better complete barreled upper and defray the costs by selling your existing complete upper.