PDA

View Full Version : First can

Lee Indy
01-21-16, 08:08
Im in the market for a can. I finally received back my first SBR stamp and am currently waiting on another one.
In the mean time I'm looking for a can.

I was eyeballing the gemtech trek that phoenix distributors seems to have a ton of. Price is awesome which is a concern as im on a budget.
Anything worth a damn in the 500$ range.
Im okay with direct thread. QD seems to add alot of length and weight but im new to this so any insight would be great.

domestique
01-21-16, 08:35
I personally like QD cans. Less chance of it loosening up on recoil (baffle strikes), and if you have a brake on it can act as a sacrificial blast baffle. I only use direct thread of weight and length ate of the upmost importance.

Do you have any 308 rifles or only suppressing 5.56?

First thing to do is make a list of your priorities in a suppressor.

Rank the following by value. (Below is my ranking from most to least important).

-Mount/locking mechsnism
-POI shift
-Accuracy
-Blowback on semiautomatic weapons
-Signature (flash etc.)
-Durability
-Customer service/support
-Weight
-db reduction
-Price
-If the cool kids are running these

Lee Indy
01-21-16, 08:45
I personally like QD cans. Less chance of it loosening up on recoil (baffle strikes), and if you have a brake on it can act as a sacrificial blast baffle. I only use direct thread of weight and length ate of the upmost importance.

Do you have any 308 rifles or only suppressing 5.56?
I'm planning a 308 bolt build but have no intention of building anything past 5.56 on the ar platform. it was my impression that a 7.62 can would work but doesnt reduce 5.56 as well.

First thing to do is make a list of your priorities in a suppressor.

Rank the following by value. (Below is my ranking from most to least important).

Reorganized to my priorities.

1-Durability
2-Price
3-POI shift
4-Accuracy
5-Mount/locking mechanism
6-Customer service/support
7-Blowback on semiautomatic weapons