PDA

View Full Version : Sig 229 ?

Pappabear
01-23-16, 16:10
I am new to Sigs, having bought an MPX and a Legion 229. On my HK handguns, the extractor protrudes a red hint on the side of the gun when loaded. I can see the extractor is sucked in on the Legion..is there a good way to tell if there is a round in the chamber and de-cocked ? It looks quite similar to racked and fired as loaded and de-cocked.

It doesn't slide open very easily to do a check either. I have not spent much time playing with a loaded gun in my house to figure it out, so I hope there is an easy answer.

Any feedback appreciated.

PB

DanjojoUSMC
01-23-16, 16:40
Extractor becomes flush....I would still work on press checking though and not really trust any indicating design. Thumb under the beavertail with fingers in front of the rear sight and squeezing works well for ones that are a bit stiff.

ChaseN
01-23-16, 17:07
I am new to Sigs, having bought an MPX and a Legion 229. On my HK handguns, the extractor protrudes a red hint on the side of the gun when loaded. I can see the extractor is sucked in on the Legion..is there a good way to tell if there is a round in the chamber and de-cocked ? It looks quite similar to racked and fired as loaded and de-cocked.

It doesn't slide open very easily to do a check either. I have not spent much time playing with a loaded gun in my house to figure it out, so I hope there is an easy answer.

Any feedback appreciated.

PB

I carry a 229 for duty - legacy design with the short extractor. Unlike a number of modern handguns, there is no way to tell the condition of the weapon by the extractor.