PDA

View Full Version : Glocks and plated bullets

Mark/MO
08-13-08, 20:29
Reading that lead bullets and Glocks are a no-no I have always shot only jacketed bullets. What about the plated bullets such as Rainier, Berry's, etc? Are they the same as a standard jacketed bullet? I would assume so but wondered what everyone else thought. I have no experience with them. Is there any reason to avoid them in my Glock 19?

BB01
08-17-08, 15:27
In my experience both brands you mentioned tumbled when shot out of Glocks. I would stick with jacketed bullets. I prefer www.zerobullets.com

Mark/MO
08-18-08, 21:07
Thanks for the warning, I appreciate it. I have always shot Remington or Winchester bulk bullets in the past for USPSA.

zac4551
08-20-08, 10:43
With their price increases they are now more than you can find jacketed bullets for, what caliber do you shoot ?

Paulinski
08-20-08, 10:49
I shot Berrys plated out of my 9mm 1911 and 9mm AR with no ill effects.

Friday I'm going to take my G19 and give them a try.

I load my 9mm a little hot 4.8 grains of 231 with 124gr Berry.

markm
08-20-08, 11:08
I've shot plenty of 9mm plated bullets from my glock. No problems. There might be a little accuracy loss, but it's not too noticeable.

If you look on Berrys site, you'll see that the plated bullets are fine for glock barrels. I've never experienced and bullet tumbling with berrys bullets.

Mark/MO
08-20-08, 19:14
Thanks for the advice. With the current prices of bullets I've been looking at viable options for "playing games". I simply compete in USPSA and IDPA for the practice so a very small accuracy drop wouldn't be a deal breaker, at least for me.
BTW I'm shooting 9mm.

markm
08-20-08, 20:34
The match shooter dude I know uses .45 ACP plated bullets without issue too.....

I just remembered that tid bit.

DarrinD
08-20-08, 20:54