PDA

View Full Version : Ruger M77 possibilities

The FNG
02-16-16, 13:58
I've got a Ruger M77 Hawkeye stainless barrel with a synthetic stock chambered in .30-06. I have a VX-2 mounted on top. Completely stock from the factory.

I would like to make this gun a "precision" style gun. What can/should I do and is it worth it (cost wise) for the potential results?

I understand maybe a better scope and a stock. I am new to precision shooting, but it really interests me so I'm just looking for help to see if my current equipment can get me going.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Primus Pilum
02-16-16, 16:25
Start over with a new platform, unless your standards are going to be very low.

Do you reload? If not have fun with 30.06
Cost to rechamber would be as much as the rifle cost. Then you also get into LA/SA differences
Stock choices will be minimal with the ruger, and will be very very costly for anything of quality.
Don't even know if any of the DBM systems WOULD work , which would cost even more money.

In order to turn it into a true precision rifle, you are looking at adding atleast 2-3 grand (maybe 4-5K depending on optic) worth of labor and parts and you will end up with a polished ruger with low resale value.

There are alot of quality options out there but you need to define some thing.

What application do you have in mind? 100yards? 500yards? 1000yards? 1600yards? Slowfire? Tactical style shooting? Do you reload? How much money are you looking to spend?

To do this hobby right, you are looking at a min $5K investment up front. This includes entry level gun, entry level optic, bipod/accessories, reloading setup, components, factory ammo, quality LRF, kestrel, magnetospeed and a bunch of other expenses that add up quick. You could piece this stuff together overtime, but you really need the whole shebang to enjoy the sport and not waste time and money while learning.