PDA

View Full Version : New to 1911s w/ questions SA vs Colt

Korgs130
02-16-16, 21:04
I’ve been researching 1911s for a few months in preparation for my first 1911 purchase. I'm a Glock guy, but have always been interested in 1911s and have shot them on a number of occasions. I’ve read most of the threads here and on other sites regarding 1911s in addition to some of the 1911 articles from LAV.

The purpose of my purchase is mainly to so I can own a 1911, shoot the heck out of it and learn the ins and outs of the system. I'd also like to be able to use it for HD if needed, but I don't foresee using it for CCW. My current budget available is around $1,500 for the pistol, but I don't necessarily need to spend that much. By the same token, if I decide to go above that amount, I don't mind waiting a few months to make the purchase either.

My plan initially was get a solid 1911 as a base for future modifications after I'm able to shoot it and find out exactly what I like. I do know that I want to go full sized, with a rail and an ambi thumb safety at a minimum. At this point I've narrowed my choices down to either a Springfield Operator or a Colt rail gun of one variety or another. I've read a lot of the threads on "SA vs Colt" and I think I'd be more than satisfied with either. Here are a few specific 1911 noob questions I haven't found good answers to . For the purposes listed:

- Will I notice any difference between the 70 series (SA) and the 80 series (Colt)? Aside from personal preferences, is one better to start off with vs the other?

- Are there benefits to a carbon steel frame (SA) vs a stainless steel frame (Colt) when in comes to durability?

- If I deviate from a basic model and take a step up to a Loaded Operator, or maybe even a Colt CQBP from their Custom Shop, is the work from the SA Custom Shop comparable to the work from the Colt Custom Shop? I've handled booth, but can't really spot the differences.

Thanks in advance for everyone's advice.

L-2