PDA

View Full Version : Russian T-90 tank vs BGM-71 TOW missile

Slater
02-26-16, 20:22
For the armor experts, was the tank damaged at all by this hit? Looks like the crew got their bells rung, at least:

http://defence-blog.com/army/first-russian-tank-t-90-in-syria-hit-by-tow.html

devildogljb
02-26-16, 20:34
Im no expert but i swear the missile hit the barrel of the cannon. Watch the slow mo carefully

For the armor experts, was the tank damaged at all by this hit? Looks like the crew got their bells rung, at least:

http://defence-blog.com/army/first-russian-tank-t-90-in-syria-hit-by-tow.html

Eurodriver
02-26-16, 20:34
Not a tanker. No experience with tanks. No knowledge of Russian tank tactics.

As a human on a battlefield, it would take quite a bit to get me to hop out of a tank after just getting hit. I'd imagine something was going on inside there that required a quick egress.

Firefly
02-26-16, 20:43
I'm assuming that they were at risk of asphyxiation

kest_01
02-26-16, 20:49
Not sure what version TOWs we supplied them, doesn't seem like newer versions though,which are top attack. Doesn't seem like that was a catastrophic kill on the tank, would've liked to have seen the vid last a little longer to see if the ammo inside started to cook off.

dwhitehorne
02-26-16, 20:50
I'm assuming that they were at risk of asphyxiation

This was what I was thinking. Also I you can't see if the commander hatch opened or was already up. Seen a few people in a semi-conscious state do things they wouldn't have done when they were clearly thinking. David

mtdawg169
02-26-16, 22:06
So who exactly was doing the shooting? American tow missiles blowing up Russian tanks doesn't seem like a good equation for larger global conflict to me.

HardToHandle
02-26-16, 22:18
So who exactly was doing the shooting? American tow missiles blowing up Russian tanks doesn't seem like a good equation for larger global conflict to me.