PDA

View Full Version : Anyone with insight into the new FN-15 Competition, and if it stacks up to a JP?

NervousEnergy
02-29-16, 11:49
New poster here... spent most of the weekend reviewing threads here researching an AR for gaming, and I'd love some input/advice on a couple of options.

I'm new to the AR platform, but I've been doing action pistol for several months and am having a blast (IDPA and USPSA). Several of the local clubs here put on 2 gun and 3 gun matches (mostly 2 gun - pistol/rifle, since the same bays can be used), and I went through a few stages with a club members JP SCR-11 and loved it. I've got a decent budget for a rifle and don't want to build one, and I don't want to waste money on a base model just to 'try it out'... I want to play. It'll be many moons before I'm really competitive, but I'm willing to invest in a good tool to start with and grow into it.

Even with a good budget a JP is really pushing it, though. I can get a JP-15 for $2200 which is the outer edge of my budget (and leaving money for glass), but the lead time is also 8-10 weeks. My LGS got one of the new FN-15 Competition rifles in and I got to spend 10 minutes with it... feels great in the hand, though I'm not a fan of the blue anodizing. Fantastic Timney trigger. It's also a good $300 less.

I really enjoyed how little recoil the JP had, and I'm curious if anyone knows how well the FN would compare in this area. Very few 2 gun carbine matches here feature long ranges, so putting a tight group at 500 yards isn't a priority. Speed and follow-up shots are. I was also considering the Stag 3G as a lower-end option, but they're having issues these days. Still may be viable.