PDA

View Full Version : Why do people pay $2300+ for a custom glock?

Epoxy
03-18-16, 19:47
Please educate me on Salient/Agency arms. Why are people so willing to pay so much money for a glock with, to my untrained eye, a trigger, stippling, barrel, and slide cuts? Don't get me wrong, I'm a glock guy, but this craze seems to be getting out of hand. I may be biased because I understand how simple it is to create those slide cuts in a program like solidworks, but I can't seem to put together why someone would pay that much except to look cool on instagram. Enlighten me.

w3453l
03-18-16, 19:56
I have no experience with Salient/Agency Arms Glocks. What I think is this: not everyone is a gun guy and/or understands much about Glocks or other guns for that matter. At the same time there's a lot of people with a lot of money to spend, and to them really the $2300 isn't all that much.

This isn't the best analogy, but you can spend anywhere from $400 - $40000 on a watch. I'm not comparing the quality/time put into manufacturing the more expensive watches; the point I'm trying to highlight is that there's people out there that do have the disposable income to drop on something like an expensive watch. So they will simply because they can.

JulyAZ
03-18-16, 19:58
Instagram/Facebook likes?

mkmckinley
03-18-16, 19:59
Perceived status, showing off, owning the new, cool thing etc.

okie john
03-18-16, 20:00
Please educate me on Salient/Agency arms. Why are people so willing to pay so much money for a glock with, to my untrained eye, a trigger, stippling, barrel, and slide cuts? Don't get me wrong, I'm a glock guy, but this craze seems to be getting out of hand. I may be biased because I understand how simple it is to create those slide cuts in a program like solidworks, but I can't seem to put together why someone would pay that much except to look cool on instagram. Enlighten me.

It's a combination of things.