PDA

View Full Version : Swapping out stocks on old Bushmaster lower

FishTaco
03-28-16, 14:11
I have an older Bushmaster lower (2003) which was purchased as a complete 20" vmatch rifle with an A2 stock.

Bought a BCM 18" SS 410 upper to replace the old upper.

Bought this

http://www.bravocompanyusa.com/Milspec-Receiver-Extension-Buffer-Tube-p/bcm-milspec-re.htm

BCM Milspec Carbine Receiver Extension (Buffer Tube) 6 Position

For your AR15, M16, M4. Carbine receiver extension (buffer tube) machined from 7075T6 and manufactured to Mil-Spec dimensions and specifications. Mil-Spec receiver extensions have a slightly smaller dimension where the stock slides on.
Hard Coat Anodized per Mil-A-8625F, Type III, Class 2
These tubes should be used with stocks such as USGI, BCM, Colt, LMT, SOPMOD, VLTOR, Stag Arms, Magpul CTR (Milspec), and others that a made to the Mil-Spec size.

Can I just replace the original buffer tube with this and use the same spring and buffer assembly? Do I need a shorter assembly? Stiffer springs?

Any help would be appreciated.

SteveL
03-28-16, 14:13
No. You need a carbine length spring and buffer for that receiver extension. I would start with an H buffer.

GH41
03-28-16, 16:48
If you haven't installed the new tube this would be the perfect opportunity to go with the A5 setup.

Iraqgunz
03-28-16, 17:05
If you are going to go this route, I suggest an H3 buffer and a blue Sprinco spring.

I have an older Bushmaster lower (2003) which was purchased as a complete 20" vmatch rifle with an A2 stock.

Bought a BCM 18" SS 410 upper to replace the old upper.

Bought this

http://www.bravocompanyusa.com/Milspec-Receiver-Extension-Buffer-Tube-p/bcm-milspec-re.htm

BCM Milspec Carbine Receiver Extension (Buffer Tube) 6 Position