PDA

View Full Version : Glock 26 vs. Glock 43 vs. Glock 42: which do you prefer?

Doc Safari
04-08-16, 09:48
If you own all three, which do you prefer and why?

I'm debating which to make my semi-auto carry piece (I can only afford one).

I see advantages and disadvantages to all three.

* I love the size of the G42....but it's not 9mm and it would force me to stock another caliber.

* I love the fact that the G26 is 9mm and can use G17 mags in an emergency, but I'd almost have to have the Pearce Grip extension to the factory mags to make it comfortable to shoot.

* I love the fact that the G43 is 9mm, but it takes single stack mags and seems redundant compared to the G26 unless you just have to have the slimmer profile.

What say you?

diving dave
04-08-16, 09:54
I carried a G26 as a back up gun when I worked as a LEO, and its my primary carry now that I'm retired. Theres not really a huge size difference between the 3, and extra capacity is always good, heaven forbid you find yourself fighting for your life. Grip extender does make it a tad more comfortable , but its not needed. Switch to some better sights,( I like 10-8's) carry a G19 mag reload, and a light and your pretty covered. Good luck with what you decide.

Jesse H
04-08-16, 10:08
I carry a 26 or 19 when off duty, with 17 spare mag. Wife carried a 43.

For me, the 43 isn't so much more comfortable or concealable over the 26 that I'd prefer it. Like already stated, I like the capability of using full sized mags with the 26.

I was hoping the 43 would be small enough for pocket carry, but I'm still sticking to the LCP380 as a back up.

Averageman
04-08-16, 10:29
I carry a 26 exclusively with G19 magazines in it.
I like the capacity and the size, I think the G19 magazines are a nice compromise in round capacity vs size. I put the pinky extender things on all of my magazines, it adds a bit of stability and assists in stripping a magazine during a reload.

okie john
04-08-16, 10:43