PDA

View Full Version : Buying Firearms out of State

alvincullumyork
04-09-16, 17:49
My job has me on the road and I move a lot. I use my parents address as my permanent address because switching addresses every 3 to 6 months would be a pain in the ass. So I'm currently an Oregon resident living in Texas working Kansas.

Last time I wanted a gun I was home for Christmas and just bought it there but right now I have the urge for a FAL and I don't want to wait until I head home. So as an Oregon resident can I buy a firearm in Texas?

I know Oregonians can buy long arms in Washington state but not pistols which I never understood but I know that some states will let non residents purchase at least some types of firearms. Is there any rhyme or reason to this system or is like the patch work of CCW laws where some states recognize others but not the other way around?

GH41
04-09-16, 18:16
Dumb questions... What does it say on your driver's license? What state do you pay taxes to? Where is your mail box?

Quiet
04-09-16, 18:38
My job has me on the road and I move a lot. I use my parents address as my permanent address because switching addresses every 3 to 6 months would be a pain in the ass. So I'm currently an Oregon resident living in Texas working Kansas.

Last time I wanted a gun I was home for Christmas and just bought it there but right now I have the urge for a FAL and I don't want to wait until I head home. So as an Oregon resident can I buy a firearm in Texas?

I know Oregonians can buy long arms in Washington state but not pistols which I never understood but I know that some states will let non residents purchase at least some types of firearms. Is there any rhyme or reason to this system or is like the patch work of CCW laws where some states recognize others but not the other way around?

For the last 47 years...

Federal laws prohibits the transfer of firearms between residents of different States unless a FFL dealer is involved. [18 USC 922(a)(3)&(5)]