PDA

View Full Version : Cleaning question with Hoppes #9

captdreifus
04-11-16, 19:42
I'm not sure if this the right area to post this question. I've read threads that hoppes #9 bore solvent can damage anodized aluminum, chrome lining etc.. I've used hoppes 9 on a rag or patch to clean out fouling on my lowers. Will this cause damage? Or is this internet folklore? I do re lube the trigger and hammer springs after using the solvent with CLP, but I don't wipe down the internals (aluminum) of the lower.

Every thread I've read here does not have a clear and definite answer.
Thanks for helping me clarify.

CD

HKGuns
04-11-16, 19:48
I use Hoppes #9 on all of my barrels and it harms nothing that I can see or tell for many years. I've never used it on anything aluminum before just steel, so I don't know about that aspect.

Others who know the chemistry and chemical make-up better than I do may chime in with more definitive answers than my own personal experience.

Zirk208
04-11-16, 20:45
Never heard of it damaging aluminium or steel. Whoops. Can't undo the last 10 years. Meh.

quackhead
04-12-16, 00:17
I've used it fir the past 20 plus years with no issues

lysander
04-12-16, 06:08
Regular Hoppes #9? There is nothing in it that is damaging to aluminum.

Some of the copper dissolving solution may be damaging, I don't know about them, as their formulas are secret.

MegademiC
04-12-16, 08:24
Ammonia is found in hoppes9.
Ammonia will oxidize aluminum.
Anodized aluminum is already oxidized so don't worry about it.
You'd have to soak aluminum for a long time in hoppes to oxidize it.

Chrome will not react.
Nickel will stain from ammonia.

I've found mpro7 to be a superior cleaner than hoppes9.

Hope this helps.

ABNAK
04-12-16, 10:01
Ammonia is found in hoppes9.
Ammonia will oxidize aluminum.
Anodized aluminum is already oxidized so don't worry about it.
You'd have to soak aluminum for a long time in hoppes to oxidize it.

Chrome will not react.
Nickel will stain from ammonia.