PDA

View Full Version : My cleaning routine. Does this sound ok?

Mossyoakglock
04-12-16, 14:24
So I am new to the AR works but not guns. Since I come from shooting mainly bolt action rifles and pistols, the cleaning routine seems a little different and more involved. After doing some research, I think I have found what my cleaning process will be.

Chamber/BCG - Slip 725 or CLP (is there something better than I can soak parts in)
Bore - some sort of foaming bore cleaner or Hoppes.
Lubrication - EWL

Since I'm religious with cleaning, I'll probably clean my gun every 500-1000 rounds. More likely after 500. After reading SLIP's website FAQs it said for something like that then 725 would be better than Carbon Killer since it's more aggressive and for people that don't clean often.

Thoughts on my routine? I know there are hundreds of cleaners and everybody has their favorite so is like for this to not turn into which one is better than the other.

HeruMew
04-12-16, 14:30
My only thought is I clean mine after every range trip, 500+ or not. Not that you should feel obligated or pressured to do so. Just something I personally do as I like the intimacy between my firearms and myself. Plus it's nice when it's an easy quick cleaning.

Considering I vouch for Slip2k, you'll be fine either which way.

Otherwise all chems/equipment sound good. Without knowing your actual cleaning methods, all sounds pretty well setup from my limited perspective.

samuse
04-12-16, 15:33
I lube with Slip 2000 EWL and just wipe everything off if I feel like it every now and then. I've gone over 5K without cleaning and have never had a problem.

Hmac
04-12-16, 15:38
Hoppes No 9 and lube with Slip 2000. Chamber brush, bore brush, bore snake, toothbrush. I clean my firearms "every so often". I very typically will go 1000 rounds or more with lube only.

GH41
04-12-16, 15:41
It has been proven many times that you do not need to clean them at all. Just add CLP and roll on.

Zirk208
04-12-16, 15:46