PDA

View Full Version : accuracy

olympicmotors
04-17-16, 17:06
I apologize , in advance, because I know this has been discussed many times, but my search could not find a good answer for this question.

I am new to the M-4 platform, I bought a new Daniel defense M4 V11 ( 16 inch mid length , standard barrel ) in December and topped it with a Vortex strike eagle 1-6 30mm scope.

I have tried 6 different types of ammo ( 556 and 223 ) and the best group I can get is about one and a half inch MOA . I am using sandbag rests front and rear off a solid bench.

What Ammo do you have the best luck with as far as accuracy is concerned.

some of the brands I have tried so far are : PMC, winchester , winchester match, federal match,

I realize every rifle is different, I am just wondering what your experience has been, as far as your favorite load for accuracy purposes , has been ?

thanks

GH41
04-17-16, 17:16
I apologize , in advance, because I know this has been discussed many times, but my search could not find a good answer for this question.

I am new to the M-4 platform, I bought a new Daniel defense M4 V11 ( 16 inch mid length , standard barrel ) in December and topped it with a Vortex strike eagle 1-6 30mm scope.

I have tried 6 different types of ammo ( 556 and 223 ) and the best group I can get is about one and a half inch MOA . I am using sandbag rests front and rear off a solid bench.

some of the brands I have tried so far are : PMC, winchester , winchester match, federal match,

I realize every rifle is different, I am just wondering what your experience has been, as far as your favorite load for accuracy purposes , has been ?

thanks

Hate to be the one to break it to you but that is acceptable accuracy for a service grade rifle. You might find a load that does better than 1.5" but i doubt you will find one that does better than 1" consistently. A better trigger will help but you ain't exactly got a target rifle.

Steve-0-
04-17-16, 17:32

thanks