PDA

View Full Version : Supressor Purchase Question

Texpatriate
05-05-16, 19:30
I've dealt with NFA branch on my SBR but I'm a newb when it comes to suppressors, so my apologies in advance if this is a dumb question. Here goes:

When I fill out my forms for the ATF and send in my $200, do I actually purchase (i.e. "pay for") my suppressor before I send in the forms, after I send in my forms, or after I get my approval back from ATF?

I've got money to pay the tax stamp right now, but I'm still saving for the actual suppressor, so I'm wondering if I can just go ahead and send in the paperwork now or if I have to wait until I have all the money together. Also, on the off chance that I got rejected, I'm wondering what would happen to my $$$ for the suppressor if I had to pay for it before getting approval. Thanks y'all.

arptsprt
05-05-16, 19:58
You'll have to buy the suppressor first then submit the paperwork and your $200. If rejected and you can't resolve the rejection, the shop you purchased the can from should refund you.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

MegademiC
05-05-16, 21:21
buy pistol, send dealer your sot's info. dealer submits form 3 and once approved, sends silencer to your sot.
Once sot receives it, they (or you) submit form 4 with $200.
Wait for eternity.
Recieve stamped paperwork and obtain silencer.

If purchasing in state you buy and they, or you submit form 4.

I did trust and my lawyer is also my sot so he handled everything.

BigWaylon
05-05-16, 23:38
Some dealers will offer "financing". I know my local one will take the stamp money plus 1/3 of the suppressor cost up front, then 1/3 at 30 days and the final 1/3 at 60. Not sure if sales tax is due up front or is also split, as I've never used the service.

But, in most cases it's 100% up front.