PDA

View Full Version : I'm on the fence between two uppers.

AppalachianThunder
05-26-16, 18:06
Im new to M4C, but have been searching the forums for about a year now doing research. I've been eyeing two complete uppers lately for for my first AR. A DD 16" carbine length with a 12" MFR rail, and a BCM BFH 16" mid length with KMR alpha. They're both within my budget, but I'm stuck on the decision of which to go with.

I know what specs to look for in AR parts from searching around the forum for quite a while, and with that being said I know both BCM and DD are respectable companies, but i do have several questions.

Between the two, which barrel will be the most consistent/accurate?

Is the BCM BCG of higher quality over the DD BCG?

Which rail will hold up to more hard use? The 12" MFR is heavier, but it looks tougher than the KMR Alpha.

The DD is cheaper than the BCM by about $100, but if the BCM is of better quality(I'm mostly concerned with the BCG and barrel), I'd rather spend the hundred and get the better parts. This will most likely be my only AR and I want it done right on the first go round.

Thank you in advance for any advice and knowledge given. And I apologize if these are repeat questions, but i searched around and didn't find the exact answers i was looking for so i figured it better ask. Links to each upper below.

DD: https://www.westernsport.com/product/daniel-defense-complete-ar15-upper/#tab-additional_information|parentVerticalTab1

BCM: http://www.bravocompanyusa.com/ProductDetails.asp?ProductCode=BCM-URG-MID-16-BFH-KMR-A-13

Stickman
05-26-16, 18:18
Both are very high quality, you are safe with either decision.

boombotz401
05-26-16, 18:21
Quality will pretty much be a wash between the 2, both uppers will be high quality and couldn't go wrong with either. Accuracy will probably be about the same also.

As for durability, run over either one with a truck and continue shooting. They'll both take a beating

Having said that I'd take the BCM