PDA

View Full Version : Press checking my Sig 229 ?

Pappabear
06-04-16, 16:14
Sig Fellas,

Got a 229 and have been very impressed. However, I'm a newbie with Sigs and want to be assured that if I want to do a press check, the hammer won't drop with an accidental discharge. Better to embarrass myself here than in the park. On my HK's I can see the chamber indicator and I'm more comfortable overall regardless of the trigger configuration. Same with MNP's.

Any tips on doing a press check on 229? Does anyone pull the hammer back to make pulling the slide easier? Any tips or tricks, Ole Pappabear is up for some edgumacation!

PB

Linebacker
06-04-16, 17:06
This is a decent llustration.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tGAFqUIhGrk

MountainRaven
06-04-16, 17:06
With any traditional DA/SA, I cock the hammer, perform the press check, and then decock. Never had a problem doing it with H&Ks, SiGs, Berettas, &c.

Main reason I cock the hammer is because I've found that if the hammer is decocked, once I put enough strength into the slide to overcome the main spring and retract it far enough to observe the chamber, I generally end up running the slide all the way to the rear, ejecting the round in the chamber (if any), and then I have to chamber a fresh cartridge. Which makes it not so much a press check.

Omen
06-04-16, 17:08
I cock the hammer, press check, then decock.

signal4l
06-04-16, 19:18
I carried a 220 for many years. I cocked the hammer with support hand thumb, slid support hand forward, placed trigger finger on inside corner of ejection port near extractor. Pull back with index finger, support hand. This keeps trigger finger away from trigger and is much easier than running slide back with uncocked gun. Also positions finger to check for chambered round if it is dark

Talon167
06-04-16, 19:29
The hammer on the Sig won't go all the way forward unless the trigger is pulled. Try it, with an unloaded gun of course.