PDA

View Full Version : G19 sight compatibility and other questions.

Razorhunter
06-09-16, 10:47
Can you guys tell me what is the brightest sight available in low light conditions? Would it perhaps be the truglo TFO?
Also, I'm wondering if the following front sights would work in conjunction with a Vickers Elite REAR sight on a G19:
-Truglo TFO front?
-Trijicon HD front?

MWAG19919
06-09-16, 12:18
I've only had experience with HDs. In no light and low light they're fantastic. In bright sunlight the orange front sight is great if the light is behind you or overhead, but if you're shooting towards the sun (i.e. you shoot toward the east in the morning), they're just blacked out. The photoluminescent paint is great if you carry a light; just a 5 second charge and you're good for a few minutes.

I've heard Meprolight has the brightest tritium, and that TFOs aren't very good in low light but are good in bright/no light. I have no firsthand experience with either, though.

SomeOtherGuy
06-09-16, 12:28
I have Truglo TFOs on my G19 and find them great. Bright in daylight, bright in complete darkness, usable in all lighting conditions I've tried. They are not a precision sight nor meant to be, but are very good for the intended purpose.

I have the Trijicon HD night sights on an M&P9. In complete darkness they glow, and with light to your back the orange front is reasonably visible, but as mentioned it's just a black silhouette if light is in front of you. I would take them over plastic sights but not over the TFOs. I think the TFOs are brighter in complete darkness, although I'm not 100% sure. Both sets of sights are approximately the same age, with the Trijicons slightly newer. I mention this because all Tritium based sights will fade with time.

I can't help with the front/rear compatibility question.

Big A
06-09-16, 14:15
Can you guys tell me what is the brightest sight available in low light conditions? Would it perhaps be the truglo TFO?