PDA

View Full Version : Record Keeping, Logging, Inventory, Maintenance

The_Watcher
06-25-16, 11:20
I have been shooting for two decades and over that period of time I have accumulated a lot of stuff. I am considering beginning to record an inventory of my firearm related paraphernalia- including the firearms themselves. I was never in the military and have never really kept detailed logs of rounds fired, maintenance, cleaning, replacement, or inventory of ammunition, magazines, RDS, BUIS, Rails, Lowers, etc.

If you are, how are you monitoring these things? Digital(excel, programs specific for this)? Handwrtitten logs?

If you are not, why not? Are you only monitoring round count?

Eurodriver
06-25-16, 12:16
I'm a numbers guy. I use excel.

I keep a simple list of my firearms by type, manuf, serial number, round count, and upgrades along with the zero distance and dope for specific distances and ammunition combos. I also have load data if that weapon uses hand loaded ammo.

I store it on my PC encrypted.

austinN4
06-25-16, 12:23

I do the same.

SourwoodJD
06-25-16, 12:39
Old school spiral bound notebook.
Brand, model, cal, SN, accessories, date purchased, price, from whom, and notes.

I need to step up to the comp world but would definitely want it secured.

Zirk208
06-25-16, 12:51
I use a spiral bound "Rite in the Rain" notepad, strictly to track round count. Nothing has broken or been replaced yet, but I imagine I'll add notes along the way for things like that. I don't track cleaning.

Firefly
06-25-16, 15:54
I use those little nondescript looking journals from Barnes and Noble.

I would use excel but I like having it written down because, well, it is my comfort zone.

Ryno12
06-25-16, 17:58
I keep digital pictures of all my firearms & serial numbers for insurance purposes. Beyond that, I don't see any value added to keeping records of anything else.

Gunnar da Wolf
06-25-16, 18:12