PDA

View Full Version : Crunch time in CA - AR 10 .308/7.56 NATO recommendations / suggestions

johnnymordoc
07-16-16, 02:58
Folks,

Born and raised in CA - and this state has gone crazy when it comes to guns........

I am new to the AR platform and am hoping to add an AR 10 7.62 NATO/.308 prior to December 31st 2016.

I am thinking a barrel length of between 18" - 20" DI if possible.

Twist of 1/10 or better. I understand this is better for accuracy.

Use - realistically - 600 -800 yards - maybe 1000 if I learn how to shoot it correctly - SHTF - survival.

Will shoot just about any decent ammo.

In stopping by the local shops - the cupboards are bare.... there is still some 5.56/.223 - but the .308/7.62 is hard to find.

It seems that the DMR/PMR rifles are available but $$$$.

Some shops are saying that the build out time is 12 to 16 weeks for some vendors - which puts me up against the clock.

Some of the names they talk about are Falkor Defense Alpha DMR and NEMO Executive XO and JP Enterprises LPR-07

I have been trying to find some LMT LM308MWS and have also heard good things about the LaRue PredatOBR 7.62.

I have also looked at the Daniel Defense Ambush 308 since they make a fine 5.56.

I figure this is the last AR 10 platform rifle I am going to be able to purchase in CA - and depending on what happens in November.

Looking for some insight - suggestions and recommendations.

I am just looking to make a quality investment for good workmanship and reliability. US made.

Thanks in advance for any comments or suggestions or recommendations.

JJ

JoshNC
07-16-16, 08:00