PDA

View Full Version : Hand Priming Tool

signal4l
09-03-08, 14:30
What is the best hand primer tool?

The Lee seems to be a bit cheap. I will be loading pistol only--9mm, 45ACP. I dont want to use the primer strips.

Has anyone tried one of these?

http://www.midwayusa.com/eproductpage.exe/showproduct?saleitemid=319794

Thanks

bullseye
09-03-08, 18:45
i've been using the lee for 30 years, [not the same one] if it tears up, another is cheap enough, and the shellholders are low dollar. gives a good feel for seating to me, course after many thousands of rounds, you'll get the "feel "of anythihg.

cougar_guy04
09-03-08, 19:06
Using the Lee here as well. No qualms with it on my end.

Pilgrim
09-03-08, 19:09
I use the Lee tool for .308 Win., and have never had a problem.

m4fun
09-03-08, 19:51
Wow - Lee here as well - mainly .45 since my Lee 1000 press absolutely sucks as a progressive loader and has been demoted over the years. Biggest issue is the priming on that press sucks and can bring your process to a hault, hence I:
1) deprime first pass with the 1000.
2) hand prime.
3) use the 1000 for the second pass for powder/bullet seating.

So, back to it. I use the Lee hand primer.

jasonb
09-03-08, 20:59
I have 2 Lees. They are all I have used, so I really cannot compare them to anything else, but they have worked well for me.

TWR
09-03-08, 23:24
Just be sure to keep the pot metal "hinge" greased up. I ran one dry and it wore out pretty quick. Of course Lee sent me another one and told me to lube it. I now have 2 and both have primed many, many cases without another issue, cheap or not it works well.

David Thomas
09-03-08, 23:44
Get the LEE. It is one of the better LEE products.

signal4l
09-04-08, 16:47
Looks like Ill get the Lee. Thanks for the replies

Bigun
09-04-08, 21:13
Another vote for the Lee I keep 2 , 1 for large and one for small primers.

markm
09-05-08, 09:04