PDA

View Full Version : Newbie here

reaper_custom
08-01-16, 21:34
First build here. Most of my tools and parts are coming in, and I'm getting excited to start this first build. I have a question I haven't really been able to find an answer to though. What length is standard or recommended for the AR? Seems there is everything from 16-20" barrels. Being this is my first build and I can see I'm going to quickly become addicted, I'm not shooting for high end on this one. Lastly, if you go with let's say a 16" barrel, what hand guard length would you recommend? Is that just preference as to how much barrel is showing at the end? Would 12" be to short?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Iraqgunz
08-01-16, 22:13
I suggest you spend some time reading through the various threads, to include the Custom Build Forum.

The most desired and probably common barrel length is the 16". The 14.5" (Permed) is probably right behind it.

Setting the bar low, is a recipe for disaster. I see it all the time.

Most people aren't worried about how much barrel is "showing". The criteria can vary from person to person. Size, weight and even cost can and most likely are factors. That being said, 12-14 inches isn't uncommon. Of course that may also depend on whether you are building a Midlength or carbine gas system.

First build here. Most of my tools and parts are coming in, and I'm getting excited to start this first build. I have a question I haven't really been able to find an answer to though. What length is standard or recommended for the AR? Seems there is everything from 16-20" barrels. Being this is my first build and I can see I'm going to quickly become addicted, I'm not shooting for high end on this one. Lastly, if you go with let's say a 16" barrel, what hand guard length would you recommend? Is that just preference as to how much barrel is showing at the end? Would 12" be to short?

reaper_custom
08-01-16, 22:16