PDA

View Full Version : Reducing Recoil in a Colt M4/LE6920

08-07-16, 08:41
First off, I'm very new to long guns and M4's/AR's. In saying that, I bought my first one a few months ago and have about 300 or so rounds through it. My buddy bought a Rock River Arms and we went out shooting yesterday. I tried his and there was barely any recoil. You shoot mine and there's some kickback from it.

Now his has a heavier barrel profile compared to mine, and overall, it's a bit heaver in weight. I have a feeling though that the buffer spring has something to do with reducing the recoil.

If I wanted to reduce the recoil on mine (The stock M4 I have), what would I need to swap out? What is the pro/con to changing the buffer spring?

Thanks!

Fatorangecat
08-07-16, 08:57
Vltor A5 buffer

Josefius
08-07-16, 09:05
Personally I don't have an issue with the recoil with my LE6920, it's lighter than my Mossberg 590a1 12g shotgun and my 7.62x54r Mosin. You could also try a BCM compensator / muzzle break.

Sent from my Nexus 5X using Tapatalk

Schmalkald
08-07-16, 09:08
How are you holding it and shooting it?

If you are shooting it by "blading," that is presenting yourself toward your target by standing sideways, and "chicken winging" it as you hold it, you are not managing recoil as effectively as you would if you stand "squared up" to the target, feet shoulder-width apart, lean from the waist, nose over toes, and shooting it that way. Flex at the knees a bit in the stance. You'll find all sorts of debate about "stiff arming" your support hand arm and "c" clamping it on the front of the rifle. It makes for great static shooting, but start moving and you'll stiff arm will transmit all movement directly to the rifle.