PDA

View Full Version : The Right Optic and Roles for a 16" .308 semi-auto

MeanStreaker
08-17-16, 15:24
I'm still looking for the right glass for my Larue PredatAR 7.62 and would appreciate any thoughts.

For the longest time it wore a TA11E ACOG as I wanted this (and still mostly think of it) as a practical, general purpose, jack-of-all-trades setup to try and do well enough on man size targets from 0-600 yards. I have always been very experienced with ACOGs on various AR15s, so this seemed like a natural fit.

I was soon blown away with just how accurate the lightweight 16" 7.62 barrel was, so I started playing with more precision scenarios. Well, trying for precision groups at 200 yards with an ACOG is probably not ideal, so I sold it to try something else.

And I'm still looking...

--Do I want to keep this thing straight up "general purpose" and pick up a 1-6 variable? Which one? (I'm looking really hard at the Vortex Razor HD Gen II and the SWFA SS HD.)

--Do I want to give up some 0-50 yard speed and get something like a 2.5-10 Nightforce or maybe even 3x-18x? I don't want to go too crazy here since the light and compact nature of the PredatAR was very attractive to me. (Factoring in, I have a squared away "general purpose" 5.56 BCM 16" wearing an ACOG, and a couple other 5.56 BCMs wearing micro Aimpoints.)

Hmmm... What do I want? What do I want? :confused:

My budget is probably $1500ish and below.

Thoughts? Who wants to give me some sage advice? Should I stop trying to "general purpose" everything?

B Cart
08-17-16, 15:50