PDA

View Full Version : M&P, Aero, or PSA king of the budget ARs?

JG007
08-25-16, 17:44
I'm not an expert but when asked I recommend the M&P (but always suggest they spend a little more for a Colt) .

But the Aero does seem to have good specs and a fairly good reputation. For argument sake if you get one of the premium PSA's with the FN barrel and better bcg it would look good on paper but I'd want someone skilled to look over it for potential QC issues.

So what is the best recommendation for a first time owner in the $500-$600 range?

firefighter37
08-25-16, 18:07
My advice to someone with a $500-$600 budget would be to keep saving your pennies.

Colt OEM1 or OEM2 is the best deal going, in my opinion, if you can find them.

I don't know why Aero has such a solid reputation, they are budget level parts, and it shows. When Grant at G and R sells BCM complete lowers for $380, how much can you possibly be saving by buying Aero? I think Aero costs more money, because you are wasting $$$ on crap.

chamber143
08-25-16, 18:12
My advice to someone with a $500-$600 budget would be to keep saving your pennies.

Colt OEM1 or OEM2 is the best deal going, in my opinion, if you can find them.

This. Not sure I would want to have one for less than the colts are going for. U can't even really build one for less than 8 that I would bet my life on. Hell my last one cost me 2700 finished. To me colts 6920 is budget priced but not a budget rifle.

JG007
08-25-16, 20:43
I covered the colt disclaimer

But I still want to know the best of the budget guns, I won't get one but many first time owners will, and the m&p generally has a good rep. Might as well point them towards the one with the least negatives.

Maybe I should have asked if anything beats the m&p at the price point

firefighter37
08-25-16, 20:45
In that case, M&P is a safe bet.

crusader377
08-25-16, 21:08