PDA

View Full Version : Colt SP1 ejection questions & fixes

MSW
11-01-16, 21:53
I think I know the answer, but wanted to confirm since I have no experience with SP1s:

1980-ish SP1 carbine--NO Brunton bump--16" skinny barrel shooting Federal XM193 had 1-2 o'clock ejection, ahead of the range shooting line. It has a Colt semi BCG which I replaced as soon as I got home with a Colt FA BCG. It also has a standard carbine buffer, which I was leaning to switching to an H buffer.

Does this make sense to work towards a 3-5 o'clock ejection, or am I being too Obsessive/Compulsive? My Daniel Defense hit 4 o'clock all day. It makes brass clean up easy, and implies less mechanical trauma. The SP1 is nice & I don't want to abuse it.

While shooting, the trigger pin walked & rotated the whole trigger, jamming the hammer & bolt. I need to double check the springs & pins--they look like they drifted after 100 rounds, inducing the jam.

Thank you for the help.

MistWolf
11-02-16, 00:09
If your extractor, extractor spring, ejector and ejector spring are not all up to spec, the whole ejection pattern thing is a waste of time. The ejection pattern thing is more of a suggestion than anything else.

If it were mine, I'd replace the springs (including the action spring) and install an H or H2 buffer and run it

MistWolf
11-02-16, 00:11
I'd also replace the hammer and trigger springs

MSW
11-02-16, 07:12
Thank you-sounds like a good starting point. I appreciate the help.

Renegade04
11-02-16, 07:49
I think I know the answer, but wanted to confirm since I have no experience with SP1s:

1980-ish SP1 carbine--NO Brunton bump--16" skinny barrel shooting Federal XM193 had 1-2 o'clock ejection, ahead of the range shooting line. It has a Colt semi BCG which I replaced as soon as I got home with a Colt FA BCG. It also has a standard carbine buffer, which I was leaning to switching to an H buffer.