PDA

View Full Version : First AR-15

Ben Freebandz
11-20-16, 16:51
Hey all. After a few months of deliberating and searching, I purchased my first AR-15. A Bravo Company Manufacturing RECCE 16, with a 13" KMR-A rail, chambered in 300 BLK. I'm active military, so I've got plenty of experience with 5.56, but I'm curious about this caliber -- may do a barrel swap if I'm not a fan.

This thread is primarily to track my 'build' progress, publish what I want to get out of the rifle and get some external feedback/advice from some seasoned users.

This rifle will act as a 'battle blaster', as it were. Range toy, training rifle, etcetera.

First on the list is a good set of iron sight. I'm thinking Magpul MBUS Pros with a Blitzkrieg insert for night fire, maybe an ASO bag next if it'll fit broken down inside.

C-grunt
11-20-16, 18:11
300 Blk is a great round but can get a bit expensive for high round count training days.

I have the MBUS Pro front sight and it's a quality piece of gear. I got a great price on a KAC 200-600 rear sight so I never bought the Pro rear. Ive never heard of this Blitzkrieg insert, what is it?

Ben Freebandz
11-20-16, 18:29
The Blitzkrieg insert is a tritium(?) insert for the front sight post, making it much easier to see in general, but especially at night.

My only concern is any possible distance shooting I wanna use it for. Anything upwards of 600 meters proves difficult, I've heard.

Kdubya
11-20-16, 18:55
The Blitzkrieg insert is a tritium(?) insert for the front sight post, making it much easier to see in general, but especially at night.

My only concern is any possible distance shooting I wanna use it for. Anything upwards of 600 meters proves difficult, I've heard.