PDA

View Full Version : First AR-15 Build Spreadsheet

ImEli
11-27-16, 12:16
Hi guys, I'm new to the forum and am currently in the process of making a spreadsheet for my first AR-15. I'm also new to guns so I've gotten a parts list together and was wondering if some of you could give me your $0.02 on the build so far. I know the main parts to focus on are the BCG and Barrel so if any of you have had a good experience with what you're running on your AR-15 let me know cause I'm open to making changes to this list. This is primarily going to be used for HD / Plinking, I'm also a lefty shooter if that's something to take into account. Thanks for the advice.

tgizzard
11-27-16, 12:34
I'm going to be the guy and just say it. You can buy a solid complete rifle at a cheaper price then $1564.11. Have you factored in the proper tools you'll need in order to put the whole thing together as well?

http://www.gandrtactical.com/cgi-bin/commerce.cgi?search=action&category=BCOM

http://www.gandrtactical.com/cgi-bin/commerce.cgi?search=action&category=COLT

Just a couple of pages you could start your search at. Just my .02 cents and I'm only stating this option because you said you are new to firearms in general.

SeriousStudent
11-27-16, 12:47
Hi Eli, welcome to the forum.

There's a lot of wisdom in buying a separate upper and lower, and pushing the takedown pins in place. You do save a bit on the federal excise tax.

Also, the proper tools to build an AR do cost a bit of money.

Right now, there are some very good deals on the Colt 6720 and 6920 complete carbines. There are also some very good deals on uppers and other parts here:

https://www.m4carbine.net/showthread.php?190690-Black-Friday-Deals

kirkland
11-27-16, 12:55