PDA

View Full Version : What's it worth question... 2008 Bushmaster Piston Gun

Led0321
12-16-16, 07:53
Mods if this isn't an appropriate forum please move.

I bought a Bushmaster Piston gun in 2008. I would say it is in 95% condition but I want to sell it now.

Does anyone have any idea what it is worth or where I should look? I have thought about just putting it on gunbroker and letting it go for a few weeks. Maybe even just the upper.

This add is old but this is the gun for reference.

http://www.armslist.com/posts/2497487/utah-rifles-for-sale--new-in-box-bushmaster-a3-gas-piston-operated-ar-15-rifle--w--16--barrel--collapsible-stock--30rd-mag---bushmaster-9029

nick84
12-16-16, 10:45
Not that I'm an expert on pricing (or really much else), but here's my experience on selling guns:

People who know guns want nice stuff or great deals, usually both. People who just want 'an AR' want to spend 3 or 4 hundred dollars and be done. By the name alone, a bushmaster isn't getting a lot of traction with the gun savvy crowd, even if there's nothing wrong with it. So having an expensive bushmaster is kind of a tough sell, outside the occasional gun panic. I'd say put it up for sale and let it run. You may get some bids or offers and then you can decide what it's worth to you. As for a number, all you can really do is go by comparables if you're not sure. Start with a grand maybe, write a good ad, and see what happens. GLWS.

donlapalma
12-16-16, 13:00
From a pure numbers standpoint, I generally find that I can sell a used gun and recover anywhere from 65% to 85% of my original total cost. Obviously, market demand will dictate where you fall out but this gives me an idea of where to start. Lacking any recent data or listings of the same firearm, your best bet would be to put it up on www.gunbroker.com and set your reserve no lower than what you would be willing to accept. Then you just wait and see. Adjust your pricing from there. Good luck.

SomeOtherGuy
12-16-16, 14:57