PDA

View Full Version : FL resize doesn't seem to be bumping my shoulder.

dmd08
01-18-17, 23:13
I'm new to reloading. I have the ABC's of Reloading and a Hornady manual which I've read and have tried to be well informed through online reading as well. I'm going slow and trying to learn as much as I can about each step as I go. I'm going to be reloading for .223 for a precision-oriented upper I built and .30-06 for my M1. My brass is mostly Wolf Gold for .223 (and some IMI and ADI shot through my built upper) and Greek HXP for the -06. Both once fired, in my rifles. I don't have dies yet for the .223 so I'm focusing on the .30-06.

So far I've deprimed, removed the crimps, uniformed primer pockets and flash holes and wet tumbled the HXP cases. I just got some Hornady Custom Grade .30-06 dies today and am starting to learn the resizing process hands on.

As the thread title states if I set up my full length resize die indexed to the top of the shell holder on a raised ram, it doesn't seem to be bumping my shoulder as measured by a Hornady Headspace Comparator. And sometimes it seemed like the resized brass was actually a thousandth or so longer. If I drop the die a quarter turn the press has a pretty hefty cam-over but then the shoulder bumps .001-.002.

My questions:

Has anyone else ever full length resized and had the shoulder measure longer instead of shorter or am I crazy?

Does this even matter or should I just set the die on the shell holder and resize without worrying about measuring my shoulder bump with the comparator?

If I do set up the die with a hefty cam-over is it bad for my equipment?

Thanks

wilson1911
01-19-17, 00:17
The first thing you should do is go to youtube and watch the david tubb vids on reloading. He covers all bases. Grab a liter of soda and a pizza, they are long vids. Take notes. You will not be doing everything he shows you, first just learn the basics.

You actually want a 2 thou bump. Do not go over 3 thou.