PDA

View Full Version : Hammer and Trigger pins moving

thebolt
01-21-17, 10:21
I'm an LE instructor and have not seen this before and thought I would share the issue.

One of our officers purchased a brand new personal AR and he has only fired a couple hundred rounds through it since purchase last year. He told me the hammer or trigger pin (I forgot which one) came loose the last time he was out shooting and it pulled out of one side of the receiver, locking up his rifle. The pin was put back in before he came out and I looked at the rifle to insure the hammer and trigger pins were flush.

He fired about 20 rounds before asking me to look at the pins. I noticed the hammer and trigger pins are both moving out and were not flush after this small amount of firing. I know this can occur but I've never seen it before, even in high round count rifles. He's clearly disappointed in his rifle but does not want to return it to the manufacturer. I suggested locking pins as his only other alternative. I know many are not fans of the locking pins here but I've used them before and have been happy with them in my own rifles.

I'm sharing my experience to see if others have seen this problem.

Crazydave
01-21-17, 10:25
Why does he NOT want to return a new rifle still under warranty back to the manufacturer for repair ?

blade_68
01-21-17, 10:43
I have them in a few of my ARs not needed in them other than a 9mm one. Have you checked hammer for j clip? Some have slipped out without it. If it is the trigger pin something is wrong. The hammer spring should have it captured in the groove on the side of pin.

Toyoland66
01-21-17, 10:43
Pins don't walk if installed correctly.

Hammer has a j-spring which sits in a groove in the pin and keeps it from walking. If the hammer pin is walking the FCG may be missing this spring.