PDA

View Full Version : On purchasing optics online...

Slater
03-05-17, 11:26
A couple weeks ago I ordered a Steiner M536 optic from an online retailer. It came in the other day and I must say it's a ruggedly built sight with superb glass. Only problem is that the reticle was noticeably canted to the left. After deciding that I couldn't fix the problem myself, back it went. I suppose I should have taken heed from the various feedback from folks that had the same issue with this particular model, but I decided to take the gamble (and lost). Apparently it's Burris cousin (the AR-536) has the occasional same problem.

I'm far from an optics expert, but Steiner seemed to have a decent reputation. I guess they have their QC issues like other manufacturers, though. Is it really a roll of the dice to get a trouble-free optic online?

ggammell
03-05-17, 12:42
Is the problem that you bought it online or that you bought an item that you have previously read poor reviews of and ended up with the same problem?

Slater
03-05-17, 12:44
Steiner said that they had corrected the problem by going to a different mount. Guess that wasn't the case.

ggammell
03-05-17, 12:52
Any chance you just got new old stock or was there a date of manufacture on there that was post "fix"?

Slater
03-05-17, 12:56
Unknown. Anyway, just something to chalk up to experience. I still really like the M536 and would buy another if I got a decent deal on one. This time around I'd like to do a hands-on, though.

officerX
03-05-17, 13:40
The problem definitely was not that you bought an optic online. I've done so without issue as have many a forum member.

Slater
03-05-17, 15:48
I'm sure that most people have good experiences. I've bought two optics online - one was good and the other bad. So I have a 50% success rate (thus far).

Sensei
03-05-17, 16:22