PDA

View Full Version : FSB removal and re-installation: FSB alignment...

websniper
03-18-17, 13:21
So, I removed my FSB from a factory med-length upper after making a few marks with a pencil to get everything lined back up after replacing the handguard cap with a round unit to accommodate a Magpul SL handguard.

After some handling and removing the FSB and trianglular cap, my marks are pretty much obliterated. My question is: Will reinstalling the taper pins pretty much automatically align the FSB to its original position due to the nature of the tapered pin arrangement or is that not necessarily the case?

I found a number of videos on YT about removing taper pins and even reinstalling them, but none really seemed to mention realigning the FSB/gas block...

officerX
03-18-17, 13:28
I'm not an expert by any means but I'm pretty sure the taper pins will get everything lined back up properly.

556BlackRifle
03-18-17, 14:18
I'm not an expert by any means but I'm pretty sure the taper pins will get everything lined back up properly.

I've done a bunch and that is exactly correct. Just align it and put the pins in the correct orientation, slip them both in gently aligning as you go, tap them firmly into place and your done.

ETA: I wipe the pins with a little light oil to help them slip into place.

GH41
03-18-17, 15:22
Like the guys said. I'll add... You couldn't get it wrong if you wanted to.

websniper
03-18-17, 15:29
Roger that. Deed is done. Liking the Magpul SL handguard so far though. Will try to get her out to the range this weekend to verify zero.

officerX
03-18-17, 15:40
Roger that. Deed is done. Liking the Magpul SL handguard so far though. Will try to get her out to the range this weekend to verify zero.

I had to do it for the same reason.

Junkie
03-18-17, 21:54
Roger that. Deed is done. Liking the Magpul SL handguard so far though. Will try to get her out to the range this weekend to verify zero.I just wish they had a rifle length option

websniper