PDA

View Full Version : Shaved front sight under kmr

Justin drake
03-28-17, 20:39
Hey this is my first time posting been reading on here a while. Anyway I have a 16" mid length bcm that had a standard a2 front sight from reading on here I decided to have it shaved to fit under the new bcm kmr alpha 13" that I got thinking its pinned so it will be more secure. I was too nervous to do it myself so I had a local gun smith do it since he has done work for me before and I've never had any problems with him and he is the only gun smith around where I live. So I pick up the upper today without really looking at it I know that was stupid but when I got home I started looking at it and everything looked fine until I got to the gas block it was touching the rail at a few places not at the bottom where the pins are or at the top it was touching on the sides I'm thinking of taking it back to him tomorrow and having him fix it but also thinking maybe I could just take the kmr off and take it down enough to where it's not touching it anymore but I don't have a vise or the thing to hold the upper reciever. Is this a big deal or is it nothing to worry about I haven't had a chance to shoot it yet so I don't know if it effects the accuracy or reliability or anything.anyhow if this was you guys rifle what would u do? Sorry for writing so much I can take pictures but all I have is iPhone probably won't be able to tell from them thanks!

dmd08
03-28-17, 20:44
It will effect accuracy.

It's an easy job you could do yourself but you paid for a service that was done halfway. I'd take it to him and let him know what I wanted done with it. I would not go back to him after that. This is gunsmithing 101 in my opinion and he failed.

Justin drake
03-28-17, 21:03
Yeah you're right thank you for reply I thought it would effect accuracy. I should have done it myself but i will be taking it back to him tomorrow and making sure it is done the right way and I definitely won't be using him again.