PDA

View Full Version : Geissele Super Charging Handle; looks can be deceiving

capt46wfd
04-01-17, 21:35
I was going to order a Raptor for my SR-15 Mod 2 this evening. I stopped by Cabela's on the way home. They had a couple Noveskes in the Gun Library; one had the Raptor the other had the Geissele. I've been ogling both online for a couple months. Visually, the Raptor looks more appealing to me. The Geissele looks "pointy" but whenever I have the rifle slung across my chest, I'm wearing body armor, so that's a non issue for me.

After handling both, I was completely dissuaded from ordering the Raptor. The Geissele was exponentially more comfortable to manipulate. There's absolutely nothing wrong with the stock KAC charging handle, but I have to do ambidextrous malfunction clearance drills and shoot left-handed when training/ qualifying.

Obviously, I won't be able to evaluate actual performance until I have one in my gun but if you're on the fence and can't physically handle both prior to purchase, the Geissele feels a lot better.

SomeOtherGuy
04-01-17, 22:23
After handling both, I was completely dissuaded from ordering the Raptor. The Geissele was exponentially more comfortable to manipulate. There's absolutely nothing wrong with the stock KAC charging handle, but I have to do ambidextrous malfunction clearance drills and shoot left-handed when training/ qualifying.

Comfortable does not always equal optimum usability. I find the M&P pistol far more comfy than a Glock, but I shoot well with a Glock, and not so well with the M&P. Anyway, I digress...