PDA

View Full Version : Question on Benelli M1 and M2 shotguns...

Slater
05-14-17, 14:27
Are the internals the same on these two shotguns or are there differences?

NongShim
05-15-17, 09:34
They are essentially the same. Is there something specific you're wondering about?

Slater
05-15-17, 10:11
Not really. I'm looking at buying an M1 from a local seller and was curious about it's design. I'm a novice to the inertial recoil system.

TomMcC
05-16-17, 02:39
There is a difference in the bolt carriers which allow a M1 to be Ghost loaded (round on the lifter/carrier). The M2 has to be machined to do this. I can't remember exactly what needs to be modified to do this, a difference in a slot on the bottom of the carrier. For the vast majority it's an irrelevant difference.

The_War_Wagon
05-16-17, 07:13
There is a difference in the bolt carriers which allow a M1 to be Ghost loaded (round on the lifter/carrier). The M2 has to be machined to do this. I can't remember exactly what needs to be modified to do this, a difference in a slot on the bottom of the carrier. For the vast majority it's an irrelevant difference.

I believe the M1's ability to hold one "in the float," was limited to the H&K mfgd. models. I have one of the LAST M1's (date code, 2002), and it does NOT allow for that.

Slater
05-16-17, 08:10
The one I'm looking at has an 18 inch barrel, pistol grip stock, and Ghost Ring sights. Were these ever made with 20 inch barrels?

TomMcC
05-16-17, 10:08
I believe the M1's ability to hold one "in the float," was limited to the H&K mfgd. models. I have one of the LAST M1's (date code, 2002), and it does NOT allow for that.

You're probably right. I haven't really kept up with it, it's all a bit hazy in my mind. I do have a HK model and it will do it.

TomMcC
05-16-17, 10:08
The one I'm looking at has an 18 inch barrel, pistol grip stock, and Ghost Ring sights. Were these ever made with 20 inch barrels?

Don't believe so.

Slater
05-16-17, 19:57