PDA

View Full Version : How to respond to a racist tirad ?

yoni
06-23-17, 10:29
I was discussing the Philando Castile shooting with a friend, who has been in multiple shootings in 2 countries but was never a cop.

Me I have been a cop in 2 countries full time, plus hold a commission in a 3rd from when I was training their elite units.

I have problems with the actions of the officer, which need not be detailed for this thread.

My friend went off on me calling me a liberal, "N" lover, and a bunch of other vile names. He also said the cop should have shot all 3 people in the vehicle.

I will not put how I responded here at this point in time.

But I would love to know how you would respond to this?

Hmac
06-23-17, 10:37
If I had been unwise enough to start the conversation in the first place, I would have promptly disengaged and walked away. Nothing good or productive would come from furthering the discussion at that point.

ramairthree
06-23-17, 10:39
Just say,
"Dude,
You are way more emotionally invested in this than me. We were not there."

And go back to your friendship before the argument.

SomeOtherGuy
06-23-17, 10:44
I was discussing the Philando Castile shooting with a friend, who has been in multiple shootings in 2 countries but was never a cop.
My friend went off on me calling me a liberal, "N" lover, and a bunch of other vile names. He also said the cop should have shot all 3 people in the vehicle.

I literally never call friends insulting names in a serious manner. People may vary, but that to me would put a hold on the friendship at the least.

rero360
06-23-17, 10:46
I have worked with other soldiers who have that mentality, how you respond is all based on the situation, me personally I couldn't be friends with someone like that, that much hate is toxic, in my case, I keep professional relationships going but end or prevent friendships from developing.

Arik
06-23-17, 11:02
Just say,
"Dude,