PDA

View Full Version : SIG P226

Slater
07-26-17, 15:48
I was in the local gun store the other day browsing the handguns. I looked over a SIG P226 (Mk 25 variant) and it seemed like a pretty solid gun. The counter guy said "They're good guns but you have to keep an eye on the frame rails for excessive wear". I have zero experience with the P226 (or any other SIG), but is there anything to that or just more gun store BS?

Coal Dragger
07-26-17, 16:30
Gun store BS probably from a counter guy that thinks anodizing wear constitutes unusual wear. He probably thinks surface wear on the barrel hood has to be monitored too.

Keep it lubed, and it will be fine. By the time you can wear out the frame rails you'll have shot about $10K worth of 9mm ammo. At which point that pistol owes you nothing.

Dionysusigma
07-26-17, 20:44
Seconding Coal Dragger's comment. There was a very brief time in the 1980s when Sig made "mud cuts" - scalloped cuts in the rails and frame - in an attempt to prevent an almost nonexistent problem, that drastically reduced the frame's service life. They've long since stopped doing that, and the commercial Mk25 definitely wouldn't have them.

Ignore Counter Guy's statement. He probably has a "buddy in the Seals/ Marine Recon/ Delta Force," too. :rolleyes:

MSparks909
07-26-17, 22:33
Uhhhh gun shop guy wasn't totally wrong; there were more than a few instances of excessive frame wear around the 2012-2014 time period. Significant amounts of metal were being removed from the frame rails of the problem guns. Google it.

But yes, the anodizing will wear over time. I personally run a grease on the frame rails of my alloy Sigs and Berettas. I've noticed less wear than with just oil. YMMV.

QuickStrike
07-27-17, 11:39
I generously apply weaponshield grease on mine. Doesn't look much different than NIB after a little over a thousand rounds so I'd say it works.