PDA

View Full Version : modifications needed to make my Glock 21 USPSA/IDPA ready

Spike59
10-04-08, 13:07
I am new to competition shooting with a Glock. I have been shooting IPSC/ USPSA since the early 1980s but I shot a comp .45 and Browning HP. Now I own a Glock 21 and I don't know what modifications (if any) I need to make a dependable match pistol. Any info would be greatly appreciated!

cougar_guy04
10-04-08, 16:28
I assume you're shooting production/SSP? I'd say all you need is mags, Holster, Mag Pouches, Ammo, and a solid belt and run that thing until it begs for mercy. :D

I'm no expert on this by any means (just a lowly C-Class shooter), but I shot my G34 in competition for 6 months before I even touched anything on it. Only thing I wanted to change right away was the sights (I've got some Warren Tactical sights on there now, need to order an FO front). My G34 wears the following (in addition to the extended controls that came with it):

Warren Tactical Sights
LWD 3.5# Connector
LWD Overtravel Stop
Decal Grip
Wolff Competition Trigger Pak
Couple other polsihed components

I didn't really do any of those for reliability, but to make it a bit more shootable for me.

For USPSA, I use a CR Speed Belt, Blade-tech DOH holster, and (4) "Tactical Kydex" magazine pouches. If I decide to venture in to IDPA I think I'm going to run a Raven Concealment Systems holster and Comp-Tac mag holders with the 34. I'm getting a 17 as a gun for competition Back-up and for any classes I may take, but that will just see a set of Warren Tactical Night Sights and the LWD 3.5# connector.

Sam
10-04-08, 16:35
For IDPA, NONE.

JonInWA
10-06-08, 13:35