PDA

View Full Version : ACOG compact thoughts?

robo
10-05-08, 15:21
So i was doing some shopping today looking for an optic for the LMT Piston im waiting on and now im caught between optics. Iv ran my Eotech and the issue ACOG for 2 deployment and have been happy with both and they both have there place with me. Eotech for MOUNT and ACOG for ambushes and SKTs. but then today i ran across the ACOG compact and it kind of has the best of both worlds not to much magnification for CQB but still some for medium enagments, plus no batteries. have any of u guys ran them and what are your thoughts.

fabulous45s
10-05-08, 19:17
I've been running one for a couple of years now and find it's very versatile. Not quite as fast as a RDS in CQB, but it still holds its own. And they shine at intermediate distances.

robo
10-05-08, 19:26
yeah.... i think im getting the Horus vision Talon. totally forgot about short dots
:)

Parabellum9x19mm
10-05-08, 20:42
Eotech for MOUNT

did you mean to type "MOUT"? :confused:

robo
10-06-08, 12:17
Yes i did...durhhhh:p

rob_s
10-06-08, 12:36
I'm a fan.

1.5x on left, 3x on right.
http://i134.photobucket.com/albums/q111/rob_s/gun%20stuff/1.5XVS3X.jpg

3x on top, 1.5x on bottom
http://i134.photobucket.com/albums/q111/rob_s/gun%20stuff/Both-01.jpg

Bat Guano
10-10-08, 16:23
I put a 1.5X compact on an M4gery about 18 months ago and am coming up on about 3K rounds through it. I run my own drills from 10 to 100 yards and on out to 200 and sometimes 300 with it. Everything out to 100 yards is on the timer. All I know is that this unit will let me go as fast as I can and it is still waiting on me.

I wish this sight had been around in my military and LEO days...it's great.