PDA

View Full Version : Windham Weaponry SRC Gas Block Removal

M4CarbineRob
09-12-17, 11:33
Ive been building ARs for a few years now and ive never had a rifles gas block be so damn stubborn. Ive done everything to move these gas block taper pins. and still no luck. Ive measured to ensure im tapping them the correct direction. applied WD40 and Croil. And still nothing. I dont wanna use a press, but that might be what i need, yet I only have a vice. Any input?

Iraqgunz
09-12-17, 16:42
Do you mean an FSB or a low profile gas block? All the Windhams I have seen with gas blocks use set screws.

M4CarbineRob
09-12-17, 16:47
This one is a sight ready carbine. Its a high gas block with NO iron sight. Its just a gas block with a high accessory rail. I wanna go with a free float hand guard and install a low pro but this gas block just wont come off. Thanks.

Iraqgunz
09-12-17, 17:56
Pictures or a link would be great.

This one is a sight ready carbine. Its a high gas block with NO iron sight. Its just a gas block with a high accessory rail. I wanna go with a free float hand guard and install a low pro but this gas block just wont come off. Thanks.

titsonritz
09-12-17, 18:09
Pictures or a link would be great.

Pretty sure he is talking about one of these. https://shop.windhamweaponry.com/collections/upper-receiver-assemblies/products/ur16midftb

I can't see why your normal method would not work.

Iraqgunz describes his method in this thread (post#7): Remove and reinstall front sight? (https://www.m4carbine.net/showthread.php?172822-Remove-and-reinstall-front-sight&highlight=taper) It works beautifully.

M4CarbineRob
09-12-17, 18:13
Ill give it a try. But Ive hit it with almost every punch and hammer combo I have in my inventory, FYI im a machinist so I have a huge assortment of punches, And its still not working. Almost seems like the taper pins were annodized before they were put in the weapon. But I will try again.

sucker76
09-12-17, 20:35